Pennsylvania law requires the Sheriff of Greene
County to process all applications for a license to
Licenses are issued to all those who qualify,
based on a background investigation done by the
Sheriff's Office through the Pennsylvania Instant
Check system (PIC). Once an application for license
to carry is filed, the Sheriff has 45 days in which
to do the investigation and notify the applicant. The
license is valid for 5 years. The Sheriff has the
ability to revoke the license at anytime for misuse.
All applicants are required to have a valid
Pennsylvania Drivers License or ID and must pay a fee
of $20.00 (cash only) at the time of application is
submitted. 2 color passport sized photos are required
- After you open the online form, complete every field.
- Print out Page 1 of the form ONLY. For most users, the option to print from Page 1 to 1 is the easiest way to print just the first page.
- Allow the ink to dry.
- Turn the paper over and re-insert in your printer.
- Print Page 2 of the form on the remaining blank side using the same method described in step 2 above, except you will print from Page 2 of 2.
- Sign the form, and come in person into the office.
PLEASE NOTE: APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED USING TWO PIECES OF PAPER ARE SUBJECT TO REJECTION BY THE SHERIFF. PLEASE PRINT YOUR APPLICATION "BACK-TO-BACK" ON ONE SHEET OF PAPER.
Procedure to Apply for a Carry Permit
Applications can be made in person at the Sheriff's Office.
- Applications can be mailed to your home address.
- Applicant MUST come to the office in person to receive the permit.
All applicants are required to have
Some type of photo ID.
- A card of any type that has your date of birth and social security number on it.
- MUST be a resident of Greene County with a mailing address in Greene County. A P.O. Box address WILL NOT be accepted.
- We will need the name, address, and phone number of 2 individuals as references on the application. The references must live in Greene County. The references cannot be from the same household. The references will need to call the Sheriff's Office. We do not call them. Family members cannot be used for references.
- A non-refundable deposit of $5.00 is required at the time of application. The balance is due when the permit is issued. Form of payment is a check or money order made payable to Robert Elliott, Treasurer. Cash will be accepted for the $5.00.
- A criminal history background check will be done on the applicant.
- No permit will be issued to out of state residents.